President:

More Info

The President of PCG provides leadership to the organization and ensures that the Board adheres to its bylaws and constitution.

Top 3 responsibilities:

  • encourages Board members to participate and supports them in making decisions in their areas
  • acknowledge Board member contributions as they occur
  • promote PCG’s purpose to the larger community – permaculture and beyond (work with Vice President and Strategic Communications Director to reach new groups and people)
  • prepare a report for the AGM (government requirement)

Other key responsibilities:

  • Board Meetings:
    • Prepare the agenda (with input from board members)
    • Chair the meeting. (Various members of the Board may take on this role)
    • Keeps discussions on topic.
  • Acts as one of the signing officers for cheques and other documents, such as contracts and grant applications.
  • Ensures the Board’s activities are focused and aligned to PCG’s mission.
  • Plays a leading role in supporting fundraising activities.
  • Evaluates the effectiveness of the Board’s decision-making process.
  • Evaluates the effectiveness of Board Members, using measurable criteria.
  • Annual General Meeting:
    • Prepares and presents the annual report (government requirement)
    • Chairs the Nominating Committee
    • Prepares the nomination list of candidates for open Board positions to be presented at the annual general meeting.
    • Orients Board Members and committee chairpersons to the Board.

email: president@permaculturecalgary.org



First name Last name Email
Lisa Patterson Lisa Patterson lisapatterson27@gmail.com President

Vice President:

More Info

The Vice President provides support and backup for the President.

Top 3 responsibilities:

  • acting in a support role for the president as consultant, advisor
  • staying current on what the president is doing, being informed on key issues within the PCG and within the community
  • find strategic ways to connect to the community (cross-over with Communications)
  • chairing Communications Committee

Other key responsibilities:

  • Participates in board meetings on a regular basis
  • Attends the annual general meeting
  • Chairs at least one major committee
  • May act as a signing officer for cheques and other documents.

email: vice.president@permaculturecalgary.org


Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Warren Hall innerwarren@hotmail.com Vice President

Webmaster:

More Info

email: webmaster@permaculturecalgary.org


Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Michelle Avis Michelle Avis michelle@vergepermaculture.ca Webmaster

Events:

More Info

email: events@permaculturecalgary.org

Treasurer:

More Info

  • Serves on the Executive Committee
  • Gives regular reports to the Board on the financial state of the organization
  • Keeps financial reports on file
  • Chairs the Finance Committee
  • Acts as signing officer, with another officer or Executive Director for cheques and other documents
  • Keeps accurate accounts of Board receipts and disbursements for Board-related expenditures
  • Speaks for the budget in partnership with the President and Finance Committee
  • Makes sure all necessary financial reports are filed
  • Collects and records membership dues. Issue receipts.
  • Orients the new Treasurer

email: treasurer@permaculturecalgary.org



Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Deborah Burke Deborah Burke deborah.burke88@yahoo.ca Treasurer

Communications:

More Info

email: communications@permaculturecalgary.org


Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Ally Cameron Ally (Alesia) Cameron alesia@telus.net Communications

Member Support & Benefits:

More Info

email: membership@permaculturecalgary.org


Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Tawnya Hons tyard1111@yahoo.com Member Support & Benefits

Education:

More Info

email: education@permaculturecalgary.org


Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Barbara Minard bminard@shaw.ca Education

Secretary:

More Info

  • Serves on the Executive Committee
  • Keeps copies of the organization’s bylaws and the Board’s policy statements
  • Keeps lists of officers, Board Members, committees and General Membership.
  • Notifies Board Members of meetings
  • Keeps record of Board attendance.
  • Makes sure that there is quorum at Board Meetings.
  • Keeps accurate minutes of meetings.
  • Records all motions and decisions of meetings.
  • Signs Board minutes to attest to their accuracy.
  • Keeps copies of minutes of both Board and committee meetings.
  • Distributes copies of minutes to Board Members promptly after meetings.
  • Conducts general Board Correspondence.
  • Keeps records of all Board correspondence.
  • Signs official documents of the organization as required.
  • Files the annual return, amendments to the bylaws and other incorporating documents with the Corporate Registry.
  • Ensures that members are notified of General Meetings.
  • In the absence of the President and Vice President, chairs Board Meetings until the election of an alternate President
  • Receives and reads all correspondence and brings it to the attention of the appropriate officer.
  • Orients the new Secretary

email: secretary@permaculturecalgary.org



Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Marcia MacLellan marcia.mac13@gmail.com Secretary

Board Systems & Processes:

More Info

email: boardsandp@permaculturecalgary.org

Tool Trailer:

More Info

email: tools@permaculturecalgary.org


Avatar First name Last name Email First Role
Mike Dorion mikepdorion@gmail.com Tool Trailer

Connections & Permablitz:

More Info

email: connections@permaculturecalgary.org

email: permablitz@permaculturecalgary.org